Introduction to the pea-pool

Published September 23, 2012 by Kokomo

Oh my how much fun we had today! Many times now I have seen posts by people putting a bowl of water with peas in it down for their rats, and today it was finally my girls’ turn to try this phenomenon. I know they love frozen peas, I have given them dishes of peas before and they would disappear in no time (just like frozen shrimp coincidentally). But, I also know they hate water. I have tried every which way to get them to take a bath. The bottom of a cage, propped up on one side, filled with lukewarm water, rocks and other toys. The sink, filled with lukewarm water and a ladder, and when they had found their way into the shower, I tried carefully turning the faucet on. They hate every thing. No water pleaaaaaaaase! I cannot count the scratches they gave me in scared attempts to escape the water. So a bowl of water with peas would be a novelty. I decided to take a deep plate, something shallow to start off with. And put not too many, but enough to drift to the sides, peas in it.

The dish with peas.

The ladies were already running free when I set the dish down, but I sat down next to in and that, to them, is always an invitation to come see what’s going on. Soon enough Koko discovered the dish and fished out a pea from the edge. Within a matter of seconds, Ruma joined her, but, seeing as Ruma is never as hungry as her big sister, she was more careful and firstly sniffed around. When she found out there were peas the dish, she happily attacked them as well. This disturbed Koko who then ran off under the bed with her pea. She undoubtedly peeled the pea and left the cover under my bed. Quickly she came running back and repeated the process. After a few peas she felt safer and just sat by the dish eating them. Ruma was done after 4 or 5 peas and trailed off climbing my shoulders. This gave Koko even more confidence and soon enough I found her siting in the middle of the dish, IN the water, eating her peas. Good girl. She ate, and ate and ate and then, with her wet and cold feet, climbed on my lap to warm up and get some approving petting from me. Aren’t they adorable? I took the opportunity to shoot like a madman with my camera so below is a gallery with some awesome shots that I have never managed before. Next time I need pics? Put out a dish of peas! 🙂 Enjoy!

Koko carefully trying…

Trying together (I love this shot)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eating together

Koko drying of her snout. It’s soooo wet! 😛

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Greedy Koko in the dish.

Ruma close-up. Gosh this is my favorite shot ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 comments on “Introduction to the pea-pool

  • I miss my ratties so much and can’t find any for pets in China arghgh! That’s why I followed yo’ blog. I need my daily rattie cuteness. You bring sunshine into my life! So cute! Haha thanks!

      • All I’ve seen are the little white lab mice for pets and food. No offense to mice but they just can’t compare with rats. I’ll have to keep looking . I did see one crawl out of a sewer and another in the subway one time. Haha

      • Yeah, not sure you can domesticise those… sadly. Well, keep up the hunt. I’ll try to post tomorrow (I need to make a few back-up posts, but I am sooooo busy atm).

      • Hahaha , didn’t think it was a good idea but if worse comes to worse… I’ll be looking forward to the new posts. Try to get some rest in between the mad blogging . 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

        memories

    the long road home

    Silly lovestories

    Because we all love them

    Phil - Refuelled!

    That Firefly Phil bloke, still knocking out photography and other stuff.

    eternal Domnation

    Will Write for Paper

    Photobotos

    Daily adventures of my two deviant rats :)

    shane for president

    drinking in the morning / politics / jerking off (now with 20% more kittens!)

    Naandika

    Naandika means I write in swahili. This is a site with poetry, short stories and rants

    H.L. Pauff

    I write stuff

    shadetheraven

    Up and coming right out of the realms of sanity

    CatrionaIsCrazy

    Botulism doesn't pay the bills.

    rosfromscratch

    Well, someone had to say it.

    castelsarrasin

    The work and activities of a writer/bargee

    myothervoices

    Human, animal and other voices not my own

    Happy Bluebirds

    Fond memories of a Bluebird group- all grown up.

    Hearing His Voice

    Learning to hear & recognize God's voice

    Björn Rudbergs writings

    Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

    cancer killing recipe

    Just another WordPress.com site

