C(r)atty behavior!

Published October 11, 2012 by Kokomo

Soooooo, I havn’t been a good blogger lately. So sorry! It’s not that I lack funny or sweet stories, I lacked the mood to post about the ladies. See, last Sunday I returned home from a birthday where I spent a good part of the afternoon with a kitten on my lap. I played around with the little critter and obviously got catsmell all over me. When I got home, the ladies were ready to cuddle as I had been gone all weekend. But as soon as they smelled me, they freaked.

This has happened before, and I knew it was going to take a day or 2 for them to trust my smell again. So, I didn’t spend a lot of time with the ladies, or at home and soon decided blog time was future talk.

What also ruined my mood is the fact that I have discovered a MOUSE! It’s running around when the ladies are caged up and doesn’t seem to be intimidated by their smell at ALL. I just stuffed a really dirty and stinky towel I got out of the cage today in the corner where I know the mouse enters my room and I am HOPING that will keep it away. It sucks because thanks to the ladies, there is food everywhere for mice. In the past, the smell of my rats had always kept the critters away (even when I lived in a mouse infested house), but this one seems to have a mind of it’s own. Now it’s quite hard to distinguish rat-gnawing or mouse-gnawing on my food. I know people may think: what’s the difference? Well, my rats are domesticed and bare NO infectious diseases or bacteria at all. Mice are yucky!

But, back to the reason why I got back to posting. Today, the ladies were running around freely and as Koko was being her annoying and destroying self, Ruma had other plans. I am not sure if she was tired or maybe she’s not feeling very well, but the little madam, after climbing through my clothes twice, sat down on my right hand, right in the palm and started washing herself. Not a big exception, she does wash herself 2/3 of the day, but today was different. She washed and washed and itched and scratched and occasionally licked my hands and when she was finished, after about 7 minutes, she curled up and settled down. IN THE PALM OF MY HAND!

We’re talking a female rat here, infamous for not being able to sit still, and above that Ruma, who never likes to sleep in an open space.

To top all of this off, madam starts bruxing and boggling. With her little paws she grabs my thumb and holds on tightly to it and I manage to grab my phone with my left hand and capture this amazingly endearing moment. I managed to keep her there, and Koko away, for about ten minutes until my hand felt like it was going to fall off. I tried switching hands but I disturbed her too much and after some time, she buggered off on her own.

These moments remind me why I love rats. They are as stubborn as cats but when you get their affection, it is SO well deserved. Someone is going to have one good night’s sleep tonight! (despite of that STUPID mouse). <3<3<3

Curled up and ready to nap

Holding my owner’s paw tight!

13 comments on “C(r)atty behavior!

  • Love the pink bloggy layout Hun! Looks super! And awww I’m sorry to hear about the mousey! Is it too risky to let the ladies out anyway – perhaps theyd scare off the mouse?? Or would that risk a fight ??
    The last photo looks adorable – she’s really giving you a mini cuddle there ! 🙂

    • Nah, I do let them out, and when they are out, there’s no mouse to be seen. But as soon as I tuck them back in the cage I can hear the little mutt scuttering about, munching on whatever the ladies have hidden somewhere. And I can’t put out traps as I am sure Koko would get caught or eat them…

      • Yah that’s understandly a risk you don’t want to take! Maybe you could try one of the human shoebox-y traps, keep it locked away in a cupboard while the girls are out and then once they’re back in their cage, put the box out?? As long as you remembered to pick it up the next day before the ladies come out to play?? I can imagine an unwelcome mousey at night can be very annoying!

      • Well, it’s not like the sound of the mouse wakes me up. I am used to hearing the ratties stumbling around their cage all night so it doesn’t wake me anymore. It’s just the thought and it pisses me off that it’s not scared of my ladies. I do clean well enough for their smell not to be annoying enough but I don’t clean well enough for it not to find any food. Frustrating! 🙂

      • True! And you don’t exactly know what kind of germs and mousey diseases it’s bringing in your home where your rats Could pick up. haha it sounds fustrating indeed! I’ve luckily only ever had to deal with an escaped hamster before, never a nosey mouse :p

      • Yeah, that too. Gosh I thought about the risk of germs for me but not even for the ladies. Now you have me freaked. Stupid mouse. Jut hoping that EXTREMELY smelly towel does the trick. At least for a few days.

      • Haha oh no I’m sorry I didn’t mean to worry you, just one of them things that I’d be paranoid about. Lucky for me hamsters can’t stray far on their own 😛 they’d escape and I’d never see them again :p must be lovely owning a rat with all that freedom! I hope the smelly towel puts the little mouse off to!

  • Well, one time they were running around freely and suddenly I realized it had been too quiet for a while. They had buggered off out the window onto the balcony. That freaked me out! So now I am very focused on any sounds I hear on the windwowsill. And well, I tried confining their free-ranging space, but they just didn’t listen. And they always return as they want to either run around, poop in the cage, drink water in the cage or just to be loved by me 🙂 Although Koko can hide for 2 hrs if she wants to.

  • People can’t understand it when I speak of the mouse infested house I rented and how disgusted I was by them, the house, the situation and yet I had pet mice as a teenager. LOTS of them. BIG DIFFERENCE PEOPLE. BIG difference between wild pest mice and domesticated pet mice. Sheesh! I so get you there. Also you don’t want the mice getting your ratties sick!!!

  • Leave a Reply

        On a mission

    Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing - Helen Keller

    Silly lovestories

    Because we all love them

    Phil - Refuelled!

    That Firefly Phil bloke, still knocking out photography and other stuff.

    eternal Domnation

    Will Write for Paper

    Photobotos

    Daily adventures of my two deviant rats :)

    shane for president

    drinking in the morning / politics / jerking off (now with 20% more kittens!)

    Naandika

    Naandika means I write in swahili. This is a site with poetry, short stories and rants

    H.L. Pauff

    I write stuff

    shadetheraven

    Up and coming right out of the realms of sanity

    rosfromscratch

    Well, someone had to say it.

    castelsarrasin

    The work and activities of a writer/bargee

    myothervoices

    Human, animal and other voices not my own

    Happy Bluebirds

    Fond memories of a Bluebird group- all grown up.

    Hearing His Voice

    Learning to hear & recognize God's voice

    Björn Rudbergs writings

    Poetry and fiction by a physicist from the dark side

    cancer killing recipe

    Just another WordPress.com site

    A Number of Things

    A blog about writing and other interesting stuff.

